top of page

Bruce Dickinson announces ‘The Mandrake Project’ - The brand new solo album coming March 1st 2024!

Updated: Dec 3, 2023

Bruce Dickinson announces ‘The Mandrake Project’. The brand new solo album coming March 1st 2024!

The Mandrake Project will be released on March 1st, via BMG on Double Vinyl, Deluxe CD, Digisleeve CD & Digital formats.

Across ten inventive, expansive and absorbing tracks, Bruce Dickinson and his long-term co-writer and producer Roy Z, have created one of 2024’s defining rock albums. Sonically heavy and rich in musical textures, it sees Bruce bring to life a musical vision long-in-the-making, and features some of the finest vocal performances of his career.

Recorded largely at LA’s Doom Room with Roy Z doubling up as both guitarist and bassist, the line-up for The Mandrake Project was rounded out by keyboard maestro Mistheria and drummer Dave Moreno, both of whom also featured on Bruce’s last solo studio album, Tyranny Of Souls, in 2005.

Bruce Dickinson - The Mandrake Project album announced. Featuring Roy Z, Mistheria, Tanja O'Callaghan, Dave Moreno

Available to pre-order on Double Vinyl, Deluxe CD, Digisleeve CD & Digital formats now (additional retailers will be added in due course):


1. Afterglow Of Ragnarok (5:45)

2. Many Doors To Hell (4:48)

3. Rain On The Graves (5:05)

4. Resurrection Men (6:24)

5. Fingers In The Wounds (3:39)

6. Eternity Has Failed (6:59)

7. Mistress Of Mercy (5:08)

8. Face In The Mirror (4:08)

9. Shadow Of The Gods (7:02)

10. Sonata (Immortal Beloved) (9:51)

Fans of both Bruce Dickinson and Iron Maiden will notice that the album features the curiously-named ‘Eternity Has Failed’, which first appeared in a different form entitled ‘If Eternity Should Fail’ on Iron Maiden’s 2015’s album The Book of Souls, illustrating how long the creative process for The Mandrake Project has been in the works.

Bruce has previously described lead single, ‘Afterglow Of Ragnarok’ as, “a heavy song and there’s a great big riff driving it…but there’s also a real melody in the chorus that displays the light and shade that the rest of the album brings.” And the track is brought vividly to life in the cinematic video which premiered last night.

Directed by award-winning director Ryan Mackfall, written by Bruce Dickinson and acclaimed British writer Tony Lee (whose lengthy credits include 2000AD, DC and Marvel ranging from Dr Who & Star Trek to Spider Man & X-Men), the film unveils Dr Necropolis, the main protagonist at the heart of The Mandrake Project. It also sets the scene for the story to come, reflecting the dark narrative contained in the 8-page comic book prequel which features in the 7” gatefold vinyl release of the single.

Your journey with "The Mandrake Project" has only just begun…

Take a trip with Necropolis in the epic video for ‘Afterglow of Ragnarok’. The new single is available to watch/stream right now on YouTube.

Check the tour dates:


bottom of page